Article Response

We do window display in order to sell the merchandise. The window displays help to promote the stores image and then draw the customer in.
The article “Why do We Display goes into about this topic. I agree with the article in regards to the motives behind making a window. A window is not made just for creativity, but for sales. “Visual merchandising is showing merchandise and concepts at their very best, with the end purpose of making a sale.” Most window displays though are targeted for “plus size” woman. People in the industry try to use size 6 mannequins to sell the reality that you (the consumer) could also be just like her and be beautiful. I personally don’t agree with this method because “small” girls are not the only ones purchasing clothes plus it’s sort of offensive to “bigger” girls. I like that most merchandisers reuse old materials when making a window sometimes. Most of the time it is nearly impossible to recognize that they did that. I enjoy that you can take old materials and remake a whole new window a totally different way. That shows the amount of creativity a person can have. I feel that I order to have a successful window, all you need is a vision that can be towards a larger target market than just “small” woman. If all merchandisers did this, I guarantee they would bring more sales to the store.

Leave a comment